Georgia Constitution

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by S&W 40, Mar 9, 2007.

1. S&W 40

S&W 40 Active Member

I my be reading into this but I had to pull up the Bill of Rights to be sure I could remember what they are. I was looking at the 5 of the first 10 "the People" issue and thought about looking at the Georgia Bill of Rights.

http://www.sos.state.ga.us/elections/20 ... tution.pdf

The way I read this is that almost all Georgia firearm laws are :bsflag: since it states that the "General Assembly shall have power to prescribe the manner in which arms may be borne" key word manner, not place or the persons legal (?) status.

Does anyone else think this, do any of you well educated have a legal opinion?

2. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

I'm not a lawyer, and I don't agree personally with this view, but regulating the carry of firearms can be construed as prescribing the manner in which they are borne.

3. S&W 40

S&W 40 Active Member

Manner accourding to the dictinary I looked at talks more to the presentation, holster, open, ccw. So yes they can regulate how we carry but not location or who.

Bear (not black or brown) to be equiped or furnished.

Borne past part of bear.

Nothing about location or personnal back ground.

4. ber950

ber950 Active Member

Unfortunatly there is case law that says different. :wink:

5. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

Well, how about the people who wrote it? Would they qualify as having a competent opinion on the subject? :D

From the dissent in Strickland v. State, 137 Ga. 1 (1911) (all emphases in bold are supplied by me, and I added a paragraph break where there is none in the original).