Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a friend who recently purchased a new pistol and is selling his old pistol. I would like to purchase his old pistol, but I am very new to this. I understand I need to obtain a GWL, but what else needs to be done for a second hand gun sale? I appreciate any help you all can give me. Thanks!

·
BANNED (not really)
3,328 Posts
Its my understanding that a firearm can be sold to another resident that's legally able to own a firearm without the need to involve a dealer.

You certainly don't need a GWL to buy from a person or a retail store.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hmmm... so no GWL. Do I need to register the pistol somehow? My thinking is, it just can't be so simple as he sells it to me and that's the end of it. Maybe I am wrong. I know Georgia has pretty lax gun laws.

·
BANNED (not really)
3,328 Posts
Nope. No registrations in Georgia are required. For any legal purposes, a bill of sale would be recommended, but it's not required. It would be only to protect either party should the firearm be used in a crime or something like that.

·
Registered
7,594 Posts
All of the above is true, provided there are no other prohibitions to you owning a firearm. If your records clear, buy away! You must be 18 to buy from an individual, and 21 to buy from an FFL dealer.

·
BANNED (not really)
3,328 Posts
Kennisau said:
I know Georgia has pretty lax gun laws.
I would say they are as they should be and other states are too involved in private party transactions :righton:

Happy shooting with the new firearm!

·
Junior Butt Warmer
46,427 Posts
Dirty J said:
Kennisau said:
I know Georgia has pretty lax gun laws.
I would say they are as they should be and other states are too involved in private party transactions :righton:
This. "...shall not be infringed..." is also in our State constitution.