General Aviation Airport - ??

Discussion in 'Places Off-Limits' started by Bulldawg182, Jul 13, 2007.

1. Bulldawg182

Bulldawg182 Active Member

As a private pilot, I spend lots of time at general aviation airports like PDK. Some of the general aviation airports around the southeast are exclusively used by private pilots while others, like PDK, also are bases for commercial operations by private and public companies. I have always carried while at the airport and while flying and have frequently entered the "terminal" buildings which serve as FBOs (Fixed Base Operators) for both private and commercial flights.

While these flights are not "scheduled airlines" as defined by the FAA's "Part 21" definition, there appears to be enough ambiguity in the Georgia Gun Laws to potentially cause a conflict.

Any thoughts on whether or not this should be a concern?

2. AV8R

AV8R Banned

First of all, I'm not sure that there's any law specifically regulating weapons at GA (general aviation) airports.

The flight school I attended and later worked for at PDK had a policy of not allowing firearms on school property or in their aircraft. I kept my firearm in my truck while working there, but would CC if I came in for a personal flight or if I was moonlighting (which was against another policy! 8) )

If I were you, I would call the airport administration office (if it is a towered field or an airport that has an office on the field) and get their guidance. Personally, GA airports are EXACTLY the sort of places one should carry. Security measures range from none to half-assed at best.

Given that you are facing only policies, CC and go about your business. OCing might get you a request to leave, and maybe even denied future business (especially with those stuck-up Signature FBOs).

3. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

http://www.georgiapacking.org/GaCode/?t ... ection=127

O.C.G.A. § 16-12-127