Formal Letter to the NRA Addressing Georgia Probate Judges

Discussion in 'GA Laws and Politics' started by Watch_Their_Hands, Feb 9, 2007.

1. I would like to raise the idea that our members approach the NRA through a formal letter, regarding the seemingly steady disregard for the law that Georgia State Probate Judges have concerning the issuance of GFL's. Georgia may very well be losing its status as a Shall Issue State, slowly but surely, which affects us all, including future members of GeorgiaPacking.org, future GFL hopefuls in general, and also all legal gun owners of this state.

I suggest that those here with an intimate knowledge of GA Gun Laws determine the content of this letter, and that other GeorgiaPacking.org members help in any way possible with the writing of this letter and any other suggestions toward its completion. I am new here, and far less knowledgeable regarding GA gun laws than many of you, (learning everyday) but I am a professional writer, and would be more than willing to lend myself to this effort, should the majority of GAP's members decide that this is a viable idea.

Input?

2. mzmtg

mzmtg Active Member

I don't have a lot of confidence in the NRA doing anything since the "shall VS may issue" isn't their pet project anymore.

They are more concerned with "katrina" legislation and closing the mythical "gun show loophole" these days. Maybe one day their agenda will line up with our needs and something will get done. Until then, I am confident that our pleas would fall on deaf ears.

That's why I'm not an NRA member, in a nutshell.

3. You very well may be right, but it might be worth a try. Perhaps a letter to a congress/senate representative that may be sympathetic to this issue?

Any suggestions? Gunstar1, MP~?

4. mzmtg

mzmtg Active Member

You're right. We've got nothing to lose by at least trying to get through to them.

5. Foul

Foul Guest

The GOA is the Pit Bull of the pro-gun groups.