First Offender and GWL - Just applied

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by oldschool68, Jan 24, 2011.

1. oldschool68

oldschool68 New Member

I am searching the forums for related topics, but figured I would post with my specifics in the mean time.

I pled first offender on a terroristic threats charge about 8 years ago. Finished up probation fine with no issues and was discharged from probation and not adjudicated as guilty. My background shows one misdemeanor conviction of reckless conduct and nothing else.

I just applied recently for my GWL and after researching statutes, I am unable to find anything that would prohibit me from receiving a GWL. Of course, it is the government and they can do what they want under the facade of any legal reason. I am mainly just looking to hear other stories and experiences that other board members have had.

I am a Cobb County resident as I am sure each county is different to a degree.

Any input and advice or experiences would be greatly appreciated. If all goes well, I will hopefully have my GWL in a few weeks and be an active member of this board!

2. budder

budder Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to the forums!

The only issue I foresee is with 16-11-129, which states in (d)(4):
    What is probably happen is the judge will request a hearing for you to explain what happened with the reckless conduct charge before signing off on the license. If you can show the judge that you have learned your lesson (or were improperly convicted, etc.) and do not deserve to be blocked, (s)he should issue the license. I recommend searching the forums (especially the "General GWL Questions" and "Ga. County Licensing Information" for the word "hearing" to see what others have experienced.

Then again, you might just have the license issued, which would save you some time and having to take a day off work. Good luck!

3. oldschool68

oldschool68 New Member