Eye protection from lasers

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by AzB, Jul 26, 2020.

1. AzB

AzB Well-Known Member

After seeing the story about Federal officers permanently blinded by rioters using green lasers, I started thinking it might not be a bad idea to get some eyepro for lasers. Just in case this becomes a "thing". And we all know what happens if you wait to take action... you end up missing out or paying a premium.

So looking at what's available, I see lots of different variables for wavelength. Not knowing anything about lasers, does anyone here have any knowledge? Are there eyepro that offer universal protection? What sort of wavelengths are these rioters most likely using?

Any info would help. I'm not a scientist and perusing the available online info is mostly just confusing.

2. Wegahe

Wegahe NRA Instructor

You would have to have too many different eye pros to insure you have the right one at any given moment. Each laser emits at a different wave length and the eye pro must protect against that specific wave length. This makes it impossible to predict which glasses you would need when the laser is aimed at your eyes. So if someone is aiming a red laser at your eyes and someone else aims a white laser at your eyes at the same time you're done. Also which wave length of red laser are they using?

3. dhaller

dhaller Active Member

If you want to flash-blind someone with a laser (which must require some good aim in action!), you'd be using green lasers (532nm) because that's the "sweet spot" for retinal absorption in a dark-adapted eye... the idea is the bleach the retina, so "painting" the retina in green light is the quickest way to do it.

If you want to protect yourself against it, you need eye protection which absorbs green light. Pretty simple.