Cleaning procedures

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by pro2am, Jan 14, 2007.

1. pro2am

pro2am New Member

Hey all. I'm fairly new to cleaning handguns as I've only had mine for a few months. I have used CLP Break-Free for cleaning out the trigger mechanisms/springs under the slide and it seems to do a great job flushing out grit and powder. However, it leaves a really oily feel to it, especially because it penetrates all the areas where a pin or safety go through the pistol and then it ends up on the outside. I end up with this silicone/oily feel on the grips and trigger. Is this a normal thing to have happen?

I use Hoppes solvent for the barrel and usually wipe down the slide with it also. Afterwhich I normally put a drop of oil on each side of the slide before re-assembly.

I'd appreciate any pointers on semi-auto pistol cleaning.

2. ls1ssdavid

ls1ssdavid New Member

pro2am- CLP does that. It leaves an oily feel to everything. Just try to wipe it down best you can. We use it on everything to clean (in the Marines, not on personal guns). Even the bore. But, I would continue using Hoppe's on the bore. It's better than CLP on the bore in the regards of a cleaning agent.

It is also proven to be linked to cancer. So don't go drinking it. And WASH YOUR HANDS. Being a Machine Gunner in the Marines. I myself would be covered in it. All over hands and face. We wouldn't care a bit and would eat MRE's with it on our hands. Oh well...

3. ls1ssdavid

ls1ssdavid New Member

For those who don't know. CLP = Cleaner Lubricant and Protectant. However it's a multi use tool. It's not the best at cleaning, lubricating or protecting. It is just an all in one liquid. That's my personal opinion though.

4. pro2am

pro2am New Member

thanks for the reply. This stuff really works well, but I thought i was over using it, even when I don't think I'm spraying that much.