Took about 60 days from date of application. (Info taken from http://www.catoosa.com/probate%20court/ ... censes.htm) Basic Requirements: Applicant must be not less than 21 years of age; Applicant must be a resident of Catoosa County to apply for and receive the license here; Applicant must provide picture I.D. and proof or residence in Catoosa County; Applicant must not currently be on probation for any offense; Applicant must be fingerprinted and submit to a criminal and mental health records check; Applicant must not have any legal disqualification to receipt of the license. [Important: Please see the notes below concerning ineligibility of certain persons.] Fees, Costs and Procedure: A fee of $20.00, payable to Catoosa County Probate Court. This fee covers the application charge of $15.00, plus the charge of $5.00 for fingerprinting and local records check. Personal checks are accepted with picture ID, Social Security number, and telephone number(s). New applicants must pay an additional $24.00, payable to the Georgia Bureau of Investigation (G.B.I.) for the complete criminal records history from the records maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigation. This MUST be in the form of a money order or a cashierâ€™s check. Personal checks are NOT accepted by the G.B.I. Renewal applications may be made up to ninety days prior or up to thirty days following the expiration of an existing license. A timely renewal will involve, unless otherwise directed by the Judge, only the $20.00 fee payable to Catoosa County Probate Court and only a check of the State criminal and mental health records through the Georgia Crime Information Center (G.C.I.C.). Any application for a firearms license made later than thirty days after the expiration of an earlier license may be treated by the Court as a new application, requiring the additional fee of $24.00 to the G.B.I. A temporary renewal license, which expires 90 days after issuance, may be issued to any applicant whose renewal application is made before the thirtieth day after expiration of an existing license. The fee for the temporary renewal license is $1.00. Upon issuance of the license, the applicant may pick up the license in person at the Probate Court. At the election of the applicant, the license may be mailed to the applicant upon issuance for an additional fee of $1.00. A lost or stolen license may be replaced upon payment of a fee of $5.00 (plus mailing, if desired). A sworn statement that the license has been lost or stolen is required; if the license was stolen, the theft must be reported to the law enforcement agency where the theft occurred. The prior license will be revoked by Court order, which will be reported to the local law enforcement agencies. Note: There is no refund of any part of the application and other fees once the application is filed and the process has begun. [Important: Please see the notes below concerning ineligibility of certain persons. Upon receipt of the required criminal and mental health records, those records are reviewed for the applicantâ€™s eligibility to receive a license. Any questions concerning eligibility are referred to the Judge for determination. If the applicant is determined to be eligible to receive a license, the license is issued. Note: The Catoosa County Probate Court has no control over the length of time for the return of the criminal and mental health records from the F.B.I. and the G.B.I. On new applications, this process may take as much as six months; for renewals, the time is usually less than 30 days. The Court cannot be required to issue a license until the necessary reports have been received. Ineligible Persons: Under O.C.G.A. Â§16-11-129(b), no license may be issued to certain persons, as follows: Pending Criminal Charges â€“ Any person who is a fugitive from justice or against whom proceedings are pending for any felony, forcible misdemeanor, or violations of Code Sections 16-11-126 (carrying a concealed weapon), 16-11-127 (carrying deadly weapons to or at public gatherings), or 16-11-128 (carrying pistol without license) is ineligible to receive a license until such time as the proceedings are adjudicated. Felony Conviction(s) â€“ Any person convicted of or placed on probation as a first offender for a felony offense by a proper court is ineligible to receive a license, unless the person has (1) received a pardon which expressly authorizes the receipt, possession or transport of a firearm, (2) received from the Board of Public Safety relief from disabilities, or (3) been discharged from first offender probation without adjudication of guilt. The pardon, relief or discharge must be exhibited to the Court. If application is made based upon relied from disabilities, the applicant must have been free of supervision for not less than five years for non-forcible felony convictions or not less than ten years for forcible felony convictions. Drug Convictions â€“ Any person who has been â€œconvictedâ€ of any offense arising out of the unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession or use of a controlled substance or dangerous drug is ineligible to receive a license, unless that person has been pardoned. Note: for purposes of drug offenses only, â€œconvictionâ€ includes a plea of guilty, a finding of guilt by a court of competent jurisdiction, the acceptance of a plea of nolo contendere, or the affording of first offender treatment. Even a person who has completed first offender probation and been discharged without adjudication of guilt for an offense involving illegal drugs is ineligible to receive a license. Only a pardon will suffice to grant eligibility to a person with a drug conviction. Misdemeanor Convictions â€“ Any person who has been convicted of a forcible misdemeanor is ineligible to receive a license until the person has been free of restraint or supervision for at least five years. Other Convictions â€“ Any person who has been convicted of an offense under Code Sections 16-11-126 (carrying a concealed weapon), 16-11-127 (carrying deadly weapons to or at public gatherings), or 16-11-128 (carrying pistol without license) is ineligible to receive a license until the person has been free of restraint or supervision for at least three years. Mental Health Hospitalization â€“ Any person who has been hospitalized as an inpatient in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within five years prior to the date of the application is ineligible to receive a license, unless the Judge, in his discretion, issues the license after consideration of the circumstances surrounding the hospitalization and any recommendation by the superintendent of the hospital or treatment center where the applicant as a patient. Further, under the Gun Control Act of 1968, 18 U.S.C. Â§921 et seq., any person who has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence is ineligible to receive a license, unless the person has received a pardon or relief from disabilities.