Carrying at executive airports ie PDK & picking up passe

Discussion in 'Places Off-Limits' started by Ned, Dec 24, 2006.

1. Ned

Ned New Member

I know it is a felony to carry into Hartsfield or its parking lots, but I am also a pilot and fly out of peachtree dekalb airport (PDK). Would this fall under 16-12-127 if i was piloting my own plane that I rented from an FBO (fixed base operator)? There is no secure terminal area like at Hartsfield so I was thinking that aiports like PDK were not included.

Also is it illegal to carry with a permit while picking up a passenger at the Arrival and Drop off sections of Hartsfield. From what I understand it is illegal. Thanks

2. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

Ned,

O.C.G.A. 16-12-123 has an exception for planes that are private:

The provisions of this subsection shall not apply to any privately owned aircraft, bus, or rail vehicle if the owner of such aircraft or vehicle has given his or her express permission to board the aircraft or vehicle with the item.

I am unaware, however, of such an exception for "terminals" in O.C.G.A. 16-12-127. This is important because the maximum penalty for a violation of 127 is 20 years imprisonment (not to mention the hefty fine).

I also noticed that you discussed the "secure terminal area" in your post. In states like Florida, this nice distinction of "secured" matters. In Georgia, you must look to the definition of "terminal" in O.C.G.A. 16-12-122(10) to find out what is covered. It is very disturbing to see what can get you twenty years.