Carry at airport (general aviation)

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by bigdixie, Dec 6, 2010.

1. bigdixie

bigdixie New Member

I am a private pilot, and I am interested in carrying a firearm on my day flights for survival purposes (in case of an emergency landing). The airport I fly out of does have a passenger terminal with a 'sterile' area with two major airline carriers. However, I do not enter or exit through the terminal. I use a general aviation entrance/exit. I do have a current GFL, and I would be carrying the gun in my flight bag, which would be within reach during the flight. Would this situation be legal? Also, could a passenger carry if he/she had a GFL?

PS. I tried to search and found nothing. Sorry if this has been covered already.

2. bigdixie

bigdixie New Member

I believe I posted this in the wrong area. Please move to 'General GWL Questions'. Thanks and sorry for being a hassle.

3. Malum Prohibitum

Malum Prohibitum Moderator Staff Member

https://www.georgiapacking.org/GaCode/?t ... ection=127
    O.C.G.A. § 16-12-127
    Prohibition on firearms, hazardous substances, knives, or other devices; penalty; affirmative defenses

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person, with the intention of avoiding or interfering with a security measure or of introducing into a terminal any explosive, destructive device, or hoax device as defined in Code Section 16-7-80; firearm for which such person does not have on his or her person a valid weapons carry license issued pursuant to Code Section 16-11-129 unless possessing such firearm is prohibited by federal law; hazardous substance as defined by Code Section 12-8-92; or knife or other device designed or modified for the purpose of offense and defense, to:

• (1) Have any such item on or about his or her person, or

(2) Place or cause to be placed or attempt to place or cause to be placed any such item:

• (A) In a container or freight of a transportation company;