Can I refuse to attend a deposition?

Discussion in 'Off-topic' started by js415, Jan 9, 2018.

1. js415

js415 Active Member

I have been asked to attend a deposition and be questioned about an incident that occurred between my insurance company and the insurance company of a contractor that worked at my house, during an insurance claim.

This claim happened 4 years ago, and I am very fuzzy on the details of "who said/did what".

My insurance company called and told me the contractors insurance companies lawyers have asked to depose me.

Can I refuse this? Will they just subpoena me if I refuse?

I will probably miss 4+ hours of works for this. Can they be forced to compensate me for missed time?

What options do I have?

Any thoughts or advice from the lawyers?

Thanks,

Jerry

2. RedDawnTheMusical

RedDawnTheMusical Well-Known Member

I'm not a lawyer, but a request for deposition is just that - a request. If they proceed with litigation, then subpoenas could be produced. I would just respond that this represents a financial burden for you and you're fuzzy on the details after four years. That puts the ball back in their court as to how to proceed.

3. gunsmoker

gunsmoker Lawyer and Gun Activist

Jerry, you can refuse— up to the point that you are sent a subpoena.

Once subpoenad, you’d have to file an objection or motion to quash that subpoena with the court. I doubt that would be successful.

But, generally, lawyers don’t want to antagonize witnesses that they need.

Have you talked to the investigators or lawyers for the law firm that wants your deposition? Maybe they can work with you on scheduling it, or go over their questions with you ahead of time so y’all can shorten the questions asked “on the record” at the deposition and fine-tune your answers to be most responsive to what they’re really asking or getting at.

Last edited: Jan 10, 2018
  4. gunsmoker