Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner

Can I pack CC while driving, or can only my car?

12215 Views 96 Replies 18 Participants Last post by  Malum Prohibitum
I've read other gun boards about Ohio, etc, which have strange cc laws which change when one enters his vehicle. I've read the GA laws a dozen times just to be safe, but with such emphasis on "the glove box or console" in several posts, and that one poor fella who got stopped at a roadblock, I just want to make sure.

I carry concealed in a bellyband and don't bother to place gun on seat or in console or in glovebox when I enter my vehicle and begin driving. Am I allowed to keep the iron where it is while driving?

I just started packing recently, so I'm new to the game and still learning the ropes....

By the way, I'm new here--glad to meet ya.
1 - 20 of 97 Posts
Do you have a license? If so, leave it in the belly band.
Then you are good to go, my friend, and there is no need to "duct tape the firearm to your forehead," as Gunsmoker is wont to say.
There is no requirement in the law to disclose (or take drunk tests on the side of the road, although your failure to do so will almost certainly land you in handcuffs, although the breathalyzer at the station should clear matters up).
Re:

jmorin said:
IF my piece is in the glove compartment with my insurance card, I make sure to pull out my insurance before the LEO steps up to the car. You could startle the LEO if you pop open your glove compartment and he sees your gun.
No need to show an insurance card in Georgia anymore. No need to show registration, either. Just your driver's license will do.
I doubt he asked for registration. What would you give him, after all? Do you really have "registration" in your glovebox?