buying first handgun, what do you reccomend?

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by TacomaOwna, Oct 21, 2007.

1. TacomaOwna

TacomaOwna Guest

This is a great website and I've enjoyed reading through some of the posts.

I'm new to handguns although I'm an avid hunter and have been around shotguns/rifles all my life.

I'm sure there have been posts in the past where people talk about the pros/cons of certain guns and which ones they prefer and why.

I'll be in the market to purchase one in the near future and I'm looking for any suggestions or advice. I don't need anything too big and actually prefer something that could easily be concealed. I'm open to evertything from semi-auto to revolvers. I'd like to keep my first purchase to around $400 if possible. I'd like to do some shooting on the weekends at the local range, but mostly just for protection.

Thanks in advance!

2. mswicord

mswicord New Member

G 19.....you want go wrong.....ammo cost is within reason so you can shoot it...

3. M249

M249 New Member

You have to find the sidearm that works for YOU. I got my USP because I loved the controls, however, it's very "jumpy" because of my girly man grip. I want a P226 because I love the way it feels in my hands. I really liked the way the PX4 shot, but I didn't like the controls. I love the CZ75 but I don't like the smallish slide.

My advice? What works for me may not work for you, so come to the GCO fall luncheon and shoot a bunch of firearms and see what works for YOU! I've found GCO and GPDO folks don't mind you shootin' their toys. ;)

4. budder

budder Moderator Staff Member

Well, before we start picking guns, what experience do you have with handguns?
    Are you more familiar with autoloaders or with revolvers?
    If the former, do you have any preferences with regards to caliber, decockers, manual safeties, and trigger styles?
    If the latter, do you want to be able to shoot .357, or do you think .38 special will be enough?