Bureaucracy rules in Bartow County GFL Process

Discussion in 'GWL News & Information' started by DougG_ATL, Mar 9, 2007.

1. DougG_ATL

DougG_ATL Guest

Hello, everyone. I'm new to the GPO forum, but wanted to share my recent experience in Bartow County. The level of bureaucracy and lack of efficient processes makes it an uphill climb for working citizens to apply for their GFL in Bartow.

Not sure what other counties' processes include, but I had to first visit Bartow Probate Court to submit my application and Bartow's relatively cheap $20 fee. Here's the catch. After completing the app with the clerk, I had to drive 2+ miles in the opposite direction to a completely separate facility, the Bartow Sheriff's Office.

Had to wait in line there to be manually fingerprinted on cards, then I had to drive BACK to Bartow Probate Court to drop off the application, prints and money order for the GBI. I asked the Sheriff's officer if they were going to move to electronic printing. He said they already have it for the jail, but not for other purposes. The court clerk told me that the process currently takes up to 12 weeks for clearance and that I have to call to check on the status of my GFL.

Lots of bureaucracy in place to make it tough to exercise our rights in Bartow. Everyone involved was friendly and helpful, but it shouldn't be this tough. How does this compare to your counties?

2. Rammstein

Rammstein New Member

Sounds about on par for most counties.

Took me 5.5 months to get my GFL from the time of application.

Here are a few things you can do after the 60 day period is up:

Get the ORI number for the sheriff's office and call the GBI/FBI and find out the status of your prints.

Call/ write a letter to your representative and ask them why the laws they wrote are not being followed.

Document everything. Every conversation. Who, what, when, where, status.

3. Taler

Taler New Member

Great Tips, Ramm. Doug might also consider joining GCO.

4. DougG_ATL