Assuming I was carrying encounter?

Discussion in 'LEO Encounters' started by Viking, Sep 21, 2010.

1. Viking

Viking New Member

This is strange but promising:

I am in court almost every day. Today I have nothing on the calendar and when I dont have anything on the calendar, I dress to feel comfortable. I have on my boots, pants, loose-fitting Tommy Bahamas shirt and my Glock Shooting Sports cap I picked up at the GCO convention. I was headed to see a client of mine at the detention center. Upon entering the facility, a sheriff's deputy handed me a note pad and I asked what it was for. He said, "Don't you want to check in your weapon?" :shock: :)

I wasnt carrying but I guess he assumed I was b/c of the cap? This prompted a discussion with another deputy whether I actually could check in my weapon (if I had one on me) and she said as long I was an officer or had a GWL, I could check it in and put it in the locker. This is good news and I've been asking the courts as well b/c I would actually like to be able to carry and check my weapon at the entrance of courthouses (instead of being told to return it to my vehicle and/or be arrested). However, I would NOT advise anyone to do this at this time (check in their weapon at court or jail) because of the notice requirements under the new law and most LEOs are not aware of how to proceed under the new law.

2. Wolfram

Wolfram New Member

Well give it a shot we will either find out here or on the news of how it went for you. I can see how catching the wrong person at the door could lead to a bad day.

3. Viking

Viking New Member

I think I'll pass on that good time. :wink: However, I would like to know if GCO or any other organization here in GA have requested what (if any) new policies there are for courthouses, jails, et al in light of the new law.

4. HydroAuto

HydroAuto GPDO Commonlaw Spouse