Any recent experiences with a new GFL application in DeKalb?

Discussion in 'Ga. County Licensing Information' started by Broadside Bob, Nov 13, 2005.

1. Broadside Bob

Broadside Bob New Member

Hi Folks,

Newbie here...applied for my GA Firearms license in Dekalb about a month ago. Here's my experience so far:

Left work early one afternoon last month to apply at the courthouse in Decatur. Basically, it's a pain in the butt to get there from most any where in Atlanta. Finding the clerk's office was not easy either. Filling out the forms was pretty painless, and the clerk could not have been nicer. Had all of my documentation so I was good there. I asked the clerk how long to permits generally take, and she said that it had been running about 2 months.

I was hoping to get over to DeKalb PD that afternoon and get the fingerprints done in one trip, but they only do fingerprints between something like 10:00 and 2:00. So, the next day, I make the 20+ mile drive (one way) back to Memorial Dr. at lunch. On arriving, the clerk there informs me that the fingerprint machine is broken; I could either come back when it's fixed probably the week or do it the "old fashioned way." Well, I wasn't excited about making the trip again (Dekalb PD is not a pleasant place to spend your lunch hour), and figured the machine's being broken for 1 week could easily turn into 2, 3, or more so I asked her to ink me up. Anyway, the clerk told me that instead of 2 months, the permit would now likely take 6 because of the "hard copy" prints.

A few questions for the group at this point:

Should I expect that the permit really will take 6 months? I could see the hard copy prints adding a couple of weeks delay for the mail and stuff, but 4 more months seems extreme?

Has DeKalb gotten any better about hitting the 60 day state requirement? After what the court house clerk said, I was wondering if they had finally gotten the message?