9mm : mixed ammo question

Discussion in 'Firearms' started by kestak, Apr 20, 2007.

1. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

I am no expert in ammo but here is a question that someone may be able to answer:

I read at some places, you should use fragmented/HP ammo in house to avoid over penetration and getting the best impact in the opponent body. At some other places, I read it may be situations where you have to fire through a door or a wall.

Anyone thought about loading the magazine with 1 FMJ, 1 HP, 1FMJ, 1 HP... so you have both of both world?

Thank you

2. Adam5

Adam5 Atlanta Overwatch

First welcome to GPDO !!! :welcome:

Personally, I'm not going to take a shot if I have to fire through a door a wall. Unless I have a target in my sights, that I can plainly tell is hostile, and the area around him/her is clear of innocents, I'm not going to shoot. If there is a wall or a door between us, how can I aim? How can I claim a legitimate threat? Just this week, a man shot and killed his wife, thinking that she was a burglar. Through a door or wall, I can't be sure of my target.

3. kestak

kestak New Member

Greetings,

Just to clarify: It is quite a rethorical question. I am not at all trying to do a "jack Bauer" (Remember when he shot the FBI assassin last year through the wall?) at all.

On the other hand, it may not be impossible a bad guys gets into my home and begin to shot through the door where my familly and I are barricaded wiating for the cops... I am a fervent of the coward rules : Flee, if you can't, barricade, if you can't, shot for the body mass. hehehe

Thank you

4. Taurus

Taurus New Member

Fragmented ammo such Glasier point ammo works great for indoors from what I have read....I have the first 3 loaded that way..The rest are JHP hydrashock....