Georgia Firearm Forums - Georgia Packing banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know I ask alot about ammo but I am really curious about it. I do not keep up with all the wiz bang rounds out now days. I plan to get myslef either a 586-686 357mag as soon as I get Tax money return. My question is what do most recommend to use for SD. I know about the REM load and thats about it. I do have about a full box of 158 Gold Dots and though of using them.

·
Registered
847 Posts
I am by no means a ballistics expert......but the beauty of the 357Mag round is it's powerful enough to do a LOT of damage whether it's FMJ or JHP.

But that being said, your gold dots would be my choice. Magnum rounds have so much energy, I'd want a bonded bullet (which GD's are) so it doesn't blow itself apart.

Gold Dots are great. Spend your $$$ on target ammo or towards holsters. No need to spend any more on SD ammo.

:righton:

·
Registered
1,256 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks Salty. I just dont really know that much about the new rounds out. I have always been partial to Gd's but was concerned with overpenetration with the 158.

·
Registered
847 Posts
Overpenetration with 357Mag is certainly a concern, but in terms of ammo technology, in my observations, the only game changer that's come out in the past 5 years is Federal's HST.

The HST is in a class of its own. I've posted about that many times. And until Winchester comes out with an update to their Ranger T-Series, I won't even consider any other JHP's out there. But I shoot .40S&W so my options/availability are a little different.

I have yet to see HST's offered in 357Mag.

Other than the HST, Winchester's bonded PDX was surprisingly consistent in my various comparisons, but until they come out with boxes of 50, I'd suggest GoldDots over PDX's every time....and those are my top 2 bonded rounds.

For your caliber, Gold Dots really are the top choice even now in 2011.