2 Questions From a Newbie

Discussion in 'General GWL Questions' started by Guest, Sep 16, 2007.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

Hey guys,

What a great site. I am a realative newbie. Been around guns all my life. Have been researching and reading a lot and purchased my first semi-auto a couple of weeks ago.

I have 2 questions...

1) I live in Woodstock, GA (within city limits) and found this local law

Sec. 58-32. Discharging firearms.
    No person shall shoot or fire any firearms such as pistols or shotguns, except law enforcement officers in the execution of their duty and/or persons participating in special events held in accordance with a valid city permit. No firearms shall be pointed toward any person while such firearms are either loaded or unloaded. No loaded firearms shall be carried on the streets, except in the case of law enforcement officers

Does that last part mean that I can't carry in the city limits of woodstock?

2) Does any county that you know of offer a CCW class? I asked a Cherokee County Sheriff Deputy, and he did not think so for Cherokee.

Where can I go for that?

Thanks Guys.

2. AeroShooter

AeroShooter Active Member

Answer to Question #1:

http://www.georgiacarry.org/cms/2007/06 ... s-gun-ban/

As to #2, If you're concerned about a training to fulfil a legal requirement -- Georgia has none. If you just looking for training for the sake of being the sharpest tack in the box, I would recommend Ken Forbus. I have not taken any classes from him but he does come highly recommended by the other members of this board. And he does have a CCW class:

http://www.firearmz.net/concealedcarrypistol.html

He posts here under the name Firearmz.

3. AeroShooter

Oh, and

:welcome:

Be sure to check out georgiacarry.org while you're at it.

4. Guest

Guest Guest

Just looking for a CCW class. I think that CCWing is a big responsibility and I just want to learn as much as I can.

Thanks for the info

5. ls1ssdavid

ls1ssdavid New Member