Georgia Flag GeorgiaPacking.org

Keeping You Informed about Georgia Gun Laws
GeorgiaPacking.org Logo
Home Current Bills Gun Laws Firearm License Forum Gun Links
Donate to GPDO!

  License Beginners Guide  

To obtain a Georgia Weapons Carry License you must first be a resident of Georgia or on active duty on a base in Georgia.  You also cannot fail any of the reasons why a license will be denied. Georgia Code 16-11-129

No License shall be granted to:

  • Any person who is prohibited from possessing or shipping a firearm in interstate commerce pursuant to subsections (g) and (n) of 18 U.S.C. Section 922;
    • Has been convicted in any court of a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding 1 year;
    • Is a fugitive from justice;
    • Is an unlawful user of or addicted to any controlled substance;
    • Has been adjudicated as a mental defective or has been committed to a mental institution;
    • Is an alien illegally or unlawfully in the United States or an alien admitted to the United States under a nonimmigrant visa;
    • Has been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions;
    • Having been a citizen of the United States, has renounced his or her citizenship;
    • Is subject to a court order that restrains the person from harassing, stalking, or threatening an intimate partner or child of such intimate partner; or
    • Has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence cannot lawfully receive, possess, ship, or transport a firearm.
    • Is under indictment for a crime punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year .
  • Any person under 21 years of age unless he or she;
    • Is at least 18 years of age;
    • Provides proof that he or she has completed basic training in the armed forces of the United States; and
    • Provides proof that he or she is actively serving in the armed forces of the United States or has been honorably discharged from such service;
  • Any person who has been convicted of a felony (unless pardoned);
  • Any person against whom proceedings are pending for any felony;
  • Any person who is a fugitive from justice;
  • Any person who has been convicted of an offense arising out of the unlawful manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug;
  • Any person who has had his or her weapons carry license revoked pursuant to subsection (e) of this Code section within three years of the date of his or her application;
  • Any person who was convicted of violation of Code Sections:
    • 16-11-126 (carrying a weapon without a license),
    • 16-11-127 (carrying a weapon or long gun in an unauthorized location),
    and has not been free of all restraints and supervision for 5 years from the date of application;
  • Any person who has been convicted of any misdemeanor involving the use or possession of a controlled substance and has not been free of all restraint or supervision in connection therewith or free of:
    • (i) A second conviction of any misdemeanor involving the use or possession of a controlled substance; or
    • (ii) Any conviction for unlawful manufacture or distribution of a controlled substance or other dangerous drug, or for a conviction which prohibits possession of firearms in insterstate commerce, or a revokation of carry license,
    for at least five years immediately preceding the date of the application;
  • * Any individual who has been hospitalized as an inpatient in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within five years of the date of his or her application. The Probate Judge may consider the reason for the hospitalization and decide whether to issue a permit or not;
  • * Any person who has been adjudicated mentally incompetent to stand trial;
  • * any person who has been adjudicated not guilty by reason of insanity at the time of the crime pursuant to Part 2 of Article 6 of Chapter 7 of Title 17.
"Convicted" means an adjudication of guilt. Such term shall not include an order of discharge and exoneration pursuant to Article 3 of Chapter 8 of Title 42.

* Petition for relief of license exception is availible, for more information about the petition, please see 16-11-129(b.1)

 

A Weapons Carry License is good for 5 years no matter where you might move to. It costs between $75 and $84 for new licenses, $30 to $34 for renewal licenses.  A Weapons Carry License covers open and concealed carry of handguns and knifes with a blade of 5 inches or longer and made for offense and defense.  The Weapons Carry License is also exempts a firearm buyer from a NICS background check.

Applications for the WCL are submitted at and issued by the County Probate Court in your county of residence. Documents required are Photo ID and Proof of Residency (a Georgia Drivers License usually covers both requirements, but it may not so check before you go).  Call your County Probate Court to find out what they will accept.

The application is provided to you at the probate court and you must fill out while there. Sample application

For each county's Probate Court contact information as well as some member supplied feedback on their county license process', see the
License Process by County Database

 

 

[ Home ]  [ Current Bills ]  [ Gun Laws ]  [ Firearm License ]  [ Forum ]  [ Gun Links ]

Second Amendment Foundation
Be sure to visit Georgia's Most Active Gun Rights Organization
GeorgiaCarry.org
Join GCO

Copyright © 2006 - 2016 by GeorgiaPacking.org. All rights reserved.
Email Me

©outdoorhub.com

TOS Privacy