Weapons Related Georgia CodeFound In LexisNexis by searching for "16-11-101.1" or in the TOC under:|
Title 16 - CRIMES AND OFFENSES
Chapter 11 - OFFENSES AGAINST PUBLIC ORDER AND SAFETY
Article 4 - DANGEROUS INSTRUMENTALITIES AND PRACTICES
Part 1 - GENERAL PROVISIONS
The code sections are all Copyright © 2012 by The State of Georgia
O.C.G.A. § 16-11-101.1
Furnishing pistol or revolver to person under the age of 18 years
(a) For the purposes of this Code section, the term:
(1) "Minor" means any person under the age of 18 years.
(2) "Pistol or revolver" means a handgun as defined in subsection
(a) of Code Section 16-11-125.1.
(b) It shall be unlawful for a person intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly to
sell or furnish a pistol or revolver to a minor, except that it shall be lawful
for a parent or legal guardian to permit possession of a pistol or revolver by a
minor for the purposes specified in subsection (c) of Code Section 16-11-132
unless otherwise expressly limited by subsection (c) of this Code section.
(c)(1) It shall be unlawful for a parent or legal guardian to permit
possession of a pistol or revolver by a minor if the parent or legal guardian
knows of a minor's conduct which violates the provisions of Code Section
16-11-132 and fails to make reasonable efforts to prevent any such violation of
Code Section 16-11-132.
(2) Notwithstanding any provisions of subsection (c) of Code
Section 16-11-132 or any other law to the contrary, it shall be unlawful for any
parent or legal guardian intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly to furnish to
or permit a minor to possess a pistol or revolver if such parent or legal
guardian is aware of a substantial risk that such minor will use a pistol or
revolver to commit a felony offense or if such parent or legal guardian who is
aware of such substantial risk fails to make reasonable efforts to prevent
commission of the offense by the minor.
(3) In addition to any other act which violates this subsection, a
parent or legal guardian shall be deemed to have violated this subsection if
such parent or legal guardian furnishes to or permits possession of a pistol or
revolver by any minor who has been convicted of a forcible felony or forcible
misdemeanor, as defined in Code Section 16-1-3, or who has been adjudicated for
committing a delinquent act under the provisions of Article 6 of Chapter 11 of
Title 15 for an offense which would constitute a forcible felony or forcible
misdemeanor, as defined in Code Section 16-1-3, if such minor were an adult.
(d) Upon conviction of a violation of subsection (b) or (c) of this Code
section, a person shall be guilty of a felony and punished by a fine not to
exceed $5,000.00 or by imprisonment for not less than three nor more than five
years, or both.
HISTORY: Code 1981, § 16-11-101.1, enacted by Ga. L. 1994, p. 1012, § 13; Ga. L. 2000, p. 1630, § 1; Ga. L. 2010, p. 963, § 2-6/SB 308; Ga. L. 2013, p. 294, § 4-9/HB 242.